Shaken Not Stirred and a Book Haul

I flew back home to Cebu from Manila lugging around a bagful of books. These are some of them:

They were too many to fit in an Instagram video but on a list, my loot looks like this:

  1. Terry Pratchett: Men at Arms
  2. Terry Pratchett: Night Watch
  3. Joe Haldeman: Forever War
  4. Robert Heinlein: Starship Troopers
  5. George Alec Effinger: When Gravity Fails
  6. Neal Stephenson: The Diamond Age
  7. Frank Herbert: Dune
  8. Roger Zelazny: Lord of Light
  9. Stephen King Dark Tower#1: The Gunslinger
  10. Dark Tower#2: The Drawing of the Three
  11. Dark Tower#3: The Wastelands
  12. Dark Tower#4: Wizard and Glass
  13. David Wong: John Dies at the End
  14. Ray Bradbury:  Something Wicked This Way Comes
  15. Bill Bryson: A Short History of Nearly Everything

I haven’t been reading lately though. It’s been a pretty messy week starting with a 7.2 magnitude earthquake that dominantly shook our island and neighboring Bohol last Tuesday, October 15, 2013. There’s death, chaos, and general despair all around. It’s very bad – my second major earthquake and the aftershocks that followed are worse. You’ll never know when they decide to strike and my nerves are frazzled and my brain is fried. I am so tired, and sad and lethargic.

Calamities are horrible, especially when they are so close to home  making it mighty hard to distract yourself from all the horror. Diversions are impossible when your building starts randomly swaying and you get woken up by the sound of your house creaking – the beams are straining and the cats are frakking spooked. It’s horrible, horrible. I never thought I’d be in the middle of this kind of terror. You are getting metaphorically attacked by the very ground you’re standing on and the house that used to be  a place of comfort is now an enemy. The Office is also more of an enemy now than ever but oh, well.

If you’re anywhere near the Pacific Ring of Fire, please take care. Drop, duck and cover, stay calm, hydrate yourself and all that shit.

7 comments

  1. Where did you get ‘em in Manila? :-)

    1. From a guy who was selling his SFF collection. I got the first 13 books for Php300 (all of it!), the Bill Bryson for Php180 in Booksale SM City Manila, and the Bradbury for Php106.50 in NBS Robinsons Otis :) I really can’t resist a good deal.

    2. You can join this FB group for updates: https://www.facebook.com/groups/avalonph/ :)

  2. Ah, the Dark Tower books! You’re in for a wild ride, I hope you and Stephen King’s magnum opus hit it off. :) And I just bought that same Bryson book this weekend, also at a Booksale. It’s such a simple criterion for any about-miscellany writer—but I really like how the man explains things, haha.

    1. I did not enjoy my first Stephen King (Gerald’s Game) when I was about 12 yrs old, but I’ve heard so many good things about The Dark Tower series. When it was suggested to me by a fellow Miévillian, I just threw all my inhibitions out the window and acquired books I-VII. I can’t wait to get started! :)

  3. I do not wish to intrude on your grief and suffering but I wish you well and I hope recovery is close to you. Brysons book is wonderful, I still use it for reference. It can be a bit tough in places, like telling someone you like toffee and they give you 4lbs of it and expect you to eat it all there and then. Sticking with the book over time helped me appreciate it.
    Not so, Pratchett, him I liked and appreciated from the start. Guards, guards is the best, I think – the start of the Vimes set from the Discworld books. Some hul of books indeed. May you find the peace to read them, or peace in reading them.

    1. Thank you. I’ve been woken up by a 5.1 aftershock followed by four ones each at about 4.0 magnitude in less than 2 hours. It’s a pretty wild ride I’m having in this island, but I have found some solace in books. :)

      These two Discworld books would be my firsts on Vimes and the City Watch. I enjoyed all the Discworld books I’ve read so far though some arcs were misses (Reaper Man’s trolley antagonists just didn’t work for me). Thank you for the well wishes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

