How Reading Changed My Life

ImageI breezed through this beautiful love letter to books and reading today. It’s a wonderful chronicle of Anna Quindlen’s childhood of reading and how wonderful it made her feel all her life.

I first stumbled across this while looking for inspiration for The Book Experience. I found some pretty memorable quotes about the power of words and the strength a reader finds in reading and the sense of special connection with characters that come alive in books.

She mentions some of my own childhood favorites – A Wrinkle in Time, most prominently, and how, even amidst happiness in family and apparent satisfaction she found in her childhood home, she’d rather spend her days isolated in a room with a book in hand. It reminded me so much of my younger self, and made me feel less odd for wanting to read books rather than go outside and play.

I cannot speak for non-readers (as I have been a reader all my life) but this is a wonderful little gem for bibliophiles – this tiny book praises the potency of reading and assures us solitary book lovers that we may be islands but we are made less lonely by words.

Anna Quindlen talks about how reading has always been her home, her sustenance, her great invincible companion, and I realized that it was mine too.

Favorite quotes below:

I did not read from a sense of superiority or advancement, or even learning. I read because I loved it more than any other activity on earth.

I am surrounded by words that tell me who I am, why I feel what I feel. Or maybe they just help me while away the hours as the rain pounds down on the porch roof, taking me away from the gloom and on to somewhere sunny, somewhere else.

Part of the great wonder of reading is that is has the ability to make human beings feel more connected to one another…

Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

