Literary Resolutions for 2013

Wrapped Up in Dreams

  1. Read at least 10 pages of a book everyday. This is a pretty humble goal, but it’s specific and achievable. I also find myself reading more than 10 pages after I get started. I just have to get started.
  2. Read more books written by Filipinos. I’ve been bad at this for the past few years. Target is 5 books read and reviewed, by the end of the year.
  3. Read more poetry. Review at least 5 poetry books by the end of the year.
  4. Read more non-fiction. This is difficult. I read books to escape reality and not face it (lol). Year-end target is 5 non-fiction books read and reviewed by the end of the year.
  5. Immerse myself in the reading community (book swapping with book friends, the iSTORYAN Bookswap Group, The Filipino Group in Goodreads, La Belle Aurore, Cebu Book Club, The Basadours).
  6. Read books more than I accumulate them. By far the most difficult resolution in the list.

Target number of books to read this year: 25

I know that may seem too few butΒ this is probably the most realistic goal I can do while actually enjoying and soaking in what I read, and not just reading to say I read the book. No matter how much I love books, I don’t want to just read this year. I love reading about other people’s lives but I also want to experience my own. Book-life balance, eh?

It’s not very ambitious but my resolutions are going to take a lot of resolve to achieve. Here’s to hoping I don’t cry myself to shame by 2014.

Happy new year, book friends! May your 2013 be filled with books.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

1 thought on “Literary Resolutions for 2013”

Leave a Reply

