Swapped: A Northern Light

Swapped: A Northern Light

I’m not really sure why (it may be the cave I’ve been hiding in or my propensity to search only for new SFF titles) but I’ve never heard of this book before. A quick web search returned an alternative title A Gathering Light and I thought it was familiar, but I was thinking of Gathering Blue (a Lois Lowry novel), so yeah.

I like that I don’t know anything about it though other than the blurb from the back and what I can gather from its cover (not a lot) because I’ll be reading this with a fresh set of eyes.

I think this is the very essence of exchanging books – discovering titles that you wouldn’t have otherwise known; getting out of your reading comfort zone; and just plunging into a different reading world that others enjoy, and changing that version of your world with them too.

Swapped: A Northern Light

I’m glad I took the plunge with Darden (a total internet stranger).  Thank you, you’re welcome and happy reading too!

I sent Ender’s Game for the first swap, btw. Darden blogged about it here.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Swapped: A Northern Light”

  1. Yay, so happy the book got in your hands safely! (I’ve been call-harrasing LBC in the last couple of days about the delivery, sorry for the delay. Haha.) So true, I also didn’t have any clue what this book was all about when I first came across it at a bookstore. I can’t even recall what made me pick it up and buy it. But here’s a tip: By all accounts, don’t trust that cover blurb. It does not give the plot justice, haha. The first thing I did after finishing the book? I bought another copy– which is something I’ve never done before in my life. (Lol, they should pay me for advertisement already.)

    But hey, don’t feel the pressure. There’s still the 50/50 chance that you might not like it as much as I did, and I’m ready for that. Things happen–our preferences in genres might be extremely incompatible or I could possibly have horrible taste in books. But this is the beauty of anonymous book swapping, anyways–reading and reviewing books with no strings attached, haha.

    And I’m glad I took the plunge with you too! I’m planning to read Ender’s Game this weekend and I can’t wait to get immersed in this nerdery you speak of. (Not that I’m not a nerd yet, by the way.)

    Let’s keep in touch. Happy Reading! 🙂

    1. Don’t worry. I’ve had books I hated while reading them, and ended up liking a lot afterwards. I’ve had books I didn’t really enjoy but I’m glad I read them. Either way, I love books and reading so much so I don’t really care. And I know for sure that this one isn’t utter shit. All those accolades can’t be wrong.

      Thanks for contributing to my reading life, regardless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

