Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Three Stories

I picked up this old, yellowed copy in 2010 and only got around to reading it this year. When I first watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961), I was enamored with the beautiful Audrey Hepburn. How can someone have such ridiculously good bone structure? It didn’t matter then how Holly Golightly was, it just that she was sassy, glamorous and very good to look at. But book Holiday Golightly was very different to me.

To call Holly Golightly independent would be an understatement. Capote’s girl is a wild thing. Wild, wonderful and wacky. She insists on being independent, hankers for intimacy but spurns attachment and runs away from anything or anyone that could possibly make her feel like she belongs. She vows to never get used to anything. “Anybody that does, they might as well be dead.” But she is sweet in her own way, and her easy existence hides an iron will and a heavy heart. She is a glamorous oddball who wants to go places and will. She takes heartbreaks with stride and grace.

Book Holly is a pained bad-ass teen slut with attachment issues and ambitions that make her a more interesting and three-dimensional character compared to Audrey’s Holly. She can be very grating, and quite racist too, but I love her with all her faults and sensibilities. She is just a scared and lonely child at the core.

Breakfast at Tiffany's

I guess there’s a Holiday Golightly in us all – not necessarily the slut Holly, but the kid that wants to be forever the wild child, to reach the skies, to be somewhere, and be someone. But as Holly puts it herself, “It’s better to look at the sky than live there. Such an empty place; so vague. Just a country where the thunder goes and things disappear.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s felt like a coming-of-age novella for adults.  I love this wistful, little book and how it makes me feel – there’s not a lot of things that are as good as picking this one up on a dull, rainy afternoon and reading it cover to cover.

Breakfast at Tiffany's

Breakfast at Tiffany's

I picked up the book for the short novel, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and as much as I like the novella, I ended up liking the short stories more. Capote wrote beautiful, whimsical stories with quirky characters and all of his sentences are perfect. His seamless writing transports you to where he wants you to be and lets you feel what he wants you to feel.

My favorite of his short stories in this book is A Christmas Memory, and when I finished it, I went right back to read it all over again. It made me sad, and it made me happy and I wanted to feel all those feels all over again.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

1 thought on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Three Stories”

Leave a Reply

