2013 Book Hauls: So far, Not very bad

I’ve been trying not to buy too many books because my life can’t possibly just be all about reading. I think I did fairly okay with staying away from books this year, so far. Seven books in a couple of months is not THAT bad, yes? I mean, I did read eight books so far this year too, even if none of them were any of these books below. Oh well. Such is life.

A Pulitzer winner and a non-fiction.

Booksale Parkmall. January 2013.

Black Hawk Down. Non-fiction piece on warfare.

Black Hawk Down. Non-fiction piece on warfare.
Booksale SM City Cebu.

The Book Thief really got me into Nazi Germany and Antisemitism. I even started reading Mein Kampf!

The Book Thief really got me into Nazi Germany and Antisemitism. I even started reading Mein Kampf!
Booksale SM City Cebu.

My first Charles de Lint. I always enjoy his book reviews.

My first Charles de Lint. I always enjoy his book reviews.
A La Belle Aurore purchase.

Classic Mieville. Can’t wait to read this!

Classic Mieville. Can't wait to get my hands on this.
Another La Belle Aurore purchase.

For my Nebula reading list. I’ve been waiting for this to go on sale (I’m a poor cat), and I got it for 30% off. Woot.

For my Nebula reading list. I've been waiting for this to go on sale (I'm a poor cat), and I got it for 30% off. Woot.
NBS Ayala Center Cebu.

I’m giving away books this month too. Partly to make space for new books, and also because it’s my birthday month and I’m feeling generous.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

8 thoughts on “2013 Book Hauls: So far, Not very bad”

    1. Darden! Hi! Thanks. haha. It’s one of my greatest pleasures. Probably 60% of the reason I put up this blog was so I can take book pictures all the time πŸ™‚

  1. Hi, I have a bunch of books that I want to sell, any ideas to do this in Cebu? I tried doing bookmooch but the shipping costs both local and international are expensive.

      1. Last month my parents dumped several bags of secondhand books, my main objective is to get rid of these books because I don’t have any space. I will consider swapping several of my books for one book. Here is an initial list of books I want to get rid of or sell, there are more at my brother’s house, I can give you the list later.
        1. Kissing the Gunner’s Daughter by Ruth Rendell (hardbound)
        2. Shopgirl by Steve Martin (softbound)
        3. The Hours by Michael Cunningham (softbound)
        4. Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins (softbound)
        5. Unfinished Portrait by Mary Westmacott (paperback)
        6. The Lake of Darness and The Veiled One by Ruth Rendell (paperback)
        7. The Tree of Hands by Ruth Rendell (paperback)
        8. The Grand Tour by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer (paperback)
        9. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende (softbound)
        10. The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman (paperback)
        11. Farewell My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living by Doug Fine (hardbound)
        12. Triple Cross: How Bin Laden’s Master Spy Penetrated the CIA, the Green Berets, and the FBI by Peter Lance (hardbound)
        13. Shanda: The Making and Breaking of a Self-Loathing Jew by Neal Karlen (hardbound)
        14. Inside the Red Mansion: On the Trail of China’s Most Wanted Man by Oliver August (hardbound)
        15. Over There: From the Bronx to Baghdad by Alan Feuer (hardbound)
        16. No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of teh Mission That Killed Osama Bin Laden by Mark Owen (hardbound)
        17. Scorpion Down: Sunk by the Soviets, Buried by the Pentagon by Ed Offley (hardbound)
        18. Lanterns and Lances by James Thurber (softbound)
        19. Skinny Dip by Carl Hiassen (softbound)
        20. For God and Country: Faith and Patriotism by James Yee (hardbound)
        21. Secrets of the Savanna: 23 Years in the African Wilderness Unraveling the Mysteries of Elephants and People by Mark and Delia Owens (hardbound)
        22. Cross Country: Fifteen Years and 90,000 Miles on the Roads and Interstates of America with Lewis and Clark, a lot of bad motels, a moving van, Emily Post, … kids, and enough coffee to kill an elephant by Robert Sullivan (softbound)
        23. The Kindness of Strangers by Kate Adie (hardbound)
        24. Don’t You Know It’s 40 Below by Jack Kates (softbound)
        25. Breaking With Moscow by Arkady Shevchenko (hardbound)

        1. That’s a lot! Do you want me to publish this in a separate post? I’m interested in some titles too, and I can buy the books or swap them with some of mine (if and when I finally get my shelf sorted).

        2. Yes please, I will send you another list when my niece is finished with her ‘homework’ to inventory the books at their house. Let me know what titles you want, I will set it aside until we can meet.

Leave a Reply

