Am I still reading?

I actually am! Just not as religiously and obsessively as a few months ago. I can’t remember the last time I reviewed a book but I did finish Frank Herbert’s seminal work: Dune, and I am feeling mighty proud of myself. It’s such a tricky book to appreciate – I had fun while reading it but its greatness sneaked up on me only a few weeks later when a friend asked me what it was about.  Trying to summarize the book in a conversation that would encompass all the layers and subtleties it has was a damn struggle. And it was in that exact moment that I was blown away by the scope of Dune. There’s nothing I can compare it to but the closest metaphor would be like:

Renaissance Italy politics set in the far future disturbed with Islamic awakening of the Arab-ish peninsula by a Messiah with powers, coupled with OPEC machinations around oil and large-scale terraforming.

It is truly a fucking epic of unrivaled proportions. It contains more ideas in its single volume than most trilogies and fleshes them out and presents them better than most.  I can go on and on, and maybe end up writing a thesis about it and it wouldn’t be enough. Psh, I am gushing, I know.

Moving on…

I also finished Luna by ___. It’s a decent read but not memorable enough for me to keep it in my shelves so I gave it away. I’m hoping to do the same for more books this year. I really want to get rid of my thrift finds (I’m anti-hoarding now) but I can’t do so until I actually finish reading them. It’s harder than it sounds.

Currently, I’m reading The Selfish Gene by Richard Dawkins – my second non-fiction book this year, and it’s a hoot so far. I’m really enjoying it and I’m eyeing a psychology and a medical book to read for the rest of the year. I’m far from my 25 books target for 2013 (5 non-fiction, 5 poetry), but oh well, that’s life.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Am I still reading?”

  1. A good non-fiction is The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. Despite the sad story and medical/scientific info, I found it an interesting and fast read.

    I loved Dune and even read Dune Messiah and Children of Dune but I wished I stuck with the first one. I found the second one confusing and it lessened the mythos of Paul Atreides (Muad’Dib).

    1. I want that book on my list too. I’ve been hearing a lot about it. My brain’s been fried at work lately so I skipped reading The Selfish Gene and settled on some light romance for now lol. I don’t want to read non-fiction books with my brain half-baked.

      I want to read Dune Messiah this year! then maybe start another epic series on 2014.

  2. I read romances between ‘serious’ books as a palate cleanser and to relax my mind. I want to lend you my Dune Messiah but it is not here in Cebu but back at my hometown.

Leave a Reply

