Easy Escapism

The last two weeks of July had been pretty grim, and I felt dead throughout the whole month. Wraith-like and ashen – romance novels and my cats were the only thing keeping me alive.  Romance novels are great books to cleanse an over-worked brain too – you just have to find the right ones that don’t suspend your belief too much because that can be just as exhausting.

Since I am too cheap to buy some actual romance books, I settled with some Kindle freebies:

Runaway Heart by Claudy Conn

This historical romance novel didn’t feel too realistic. I’m up for a sassy girl any time but I felt like Chelsea’s naivete and flirtatiousness weren’t too balanced. The author was obviously ignorant of Regency customs too – the male lead removing the female lead’s glove and placing a kiss on her knuckles and wrist, in front of her guardian and other people in a party? That is vulgar.

I’m all up for a roguish Lord falling for the naive girl, but when it’s as poorly executed as this, it really isn’t worth putting up with. I was glad when it was all over at about 75%.

An Engagement in Seattle: Groom Wanted/Bride Wanted by Debbie Macomber

This one was a surprise. I was all too ready to give up on the first novella (Groom Wanted) because people marrying for a visa is too cliched for my Pinoy heart, but when Aleksander Berinksi did the unthinkable and married on top of the green card issues, I was sold. That was fun.

Bride Wanted was forgettable, but it did make me want to trek again with Debbie’s vivid description of a trail.

Both novellas were light, quick reads and I was glad I read them. Now, I’m not really all that familiar with good and recent romance novels, so any suggestions?

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

