A Childhood Farewell of Sorts

IMG_5650 I’m giving away my children’s books mostly because I’m running out of space for new ones, and also because I have not re-read any of these for so long that they’ve started looking sad.

I’ve been collecting Newberry medalists for a few years now – I fancied myself building a respectable library for my future children, but since all maternal instincts have escaped me and I cannot/don’t want to find a justifiable reason to make a human, there really is no point in amassing books that just end up gathering dust for years. Besides, if I finally decide to bear spawns, I could always buy more of these books. Or send the little ones off to the library.

I’m giving these books to a friend who’s a mother who loves books. I hope she and her boys enjoy them as much as I did.

IMG_5622

I read The Egypt Game last weekend because I couldn’t remember what it was about. Well, it was about children fascinated with Egypt (d’oh!) which I would like to think all nerdy children had a phase with at some point in our their childhood.

IMG_5632

I read this when I was in college and at a very bad time (night before finals) because I started it and couldn’t stop and go back to my college textbooks without finishing the story. It was a bad time to read a book for pleasure but The Door in the Wall was so good.  A great book of adventure and excitement. 10/10 will read again.

IMG_5631

From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler has got to be one of my favorite childhood books ever. It’s one of two books from this pile that I’ve read more than twice, and it’s still as fun and still as charming as when I first read it so many years ago.

It also bears one of my favorite quotes about learning:

I think you should learn, of course, and some days you must learn a great deal. But you should also have days when you allow what is already in you to swell up inside of you until it touches everything. And you can feel it inside of you. If you never take time out to let that happen, then you accumulate facts, and they begin to rattle around inside of you. You can make noise with them, but never really feel anything with them. It’s hollow.

IMG_5638

IMG_5639

Roald Dahl is one of the most clever and fun writers with his odd but endearing characters.  I see more Dahls accumulating on my shelf for the years to come as one of my personal reading goals is to read (and write about) all of his works. Matilda and the Charlie Bucket series are probably his most popular books, no?

IMG_5637

A Wrinkle in Time is also one of my childhood favorites. I used to hunt for the entire Time Quartet series in my grade school library and talk about them with the only other person I knew back then who was as crazy about the series as I was (hello, Zerah). I still remember staying up late at night to finish this and daydream about the book all through the next school day. This copy is so old, torn and battered (but so pretty). I tried re-reading this last week but I can’t seem to get past the first few pages.  Curious.IMG_5641 I also read The Midwife’s Apprentice in college and it’s quirky and quaint. It reminded me a lot of Sharon Creech’s Walk Two Moons, another grade school Newberry favorite.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “A Childhood Farewell of Sorts”

Leave a Reply

