The Scar’s Armada

d5b5d0b47c0611e3b84112f7384cf9fb_8

So, I am currently  in the middle of China Miéville’s The Scar. It’s Book 2 of the Bas-lag series, which I really wouldn’t call a series because the only thing it shares with Perdido Street Station (Book 1) is the universe it is in – aptly called, well, Bas-lag. This is only my second Miéville. Second! It’s very odd to be so involved with a writer after reading only one of his novels, and probably all of his articles and interviews that I could find online. So we need to remedy that. By reading everything in his bibliography, starting of course, with The Scar.

ANYWAY.

In Part II of The Scar, we are introduced to a pirate city hauled across the ocean – the city of Armada, a forest of ships. It looks like this:

Armada_by_Majoh
Armada by Majoh

For someone who’s literary background on anything nautical was mostly, errr naughty historical romances, it was daunting for me to picture a city of ships that sails as a conglomerate. I searched for fanart that would give me an idea of what it would look like and Majoh’s interpretation closely resembles how Miéville describes Armada – it’s less than a mile wide, with conjoined ships of all kinds, and bridges that interconnects this whole piratical web of craziness.

Another fanart of the city during the day:

Armada City by Medhi
Armada City by Medhi

This one looks a lot like Riften – probably my least favorite town in Skyrim because I get lost all time when I need to go to the Thieves headquarters, and because I kept falling from bridges. It is a probable conclusion that I will die if I get press-ganged into Armada. And yes, press-ganged will be the only way I could be there because no city-born would ever spawn someone who keeps falling from bridges.

Here’s another pretty one:

myarmada
by Franco Brambilla

In spite of all these wonderful Armada interpretations, my favorite is still this beautiful cover of the hardbound copy.

2012-09-03 17.33.30
I want this copy but I’m poor

The cover shows the true grittiness of Miéville’s pirate city – it is dark, alienating, and mysterious. I wish I discovered China’s works earlier so I would’ve had dibs on the hardcovers but oh well. My cover (reprinted UK edition, first picture) is very, VERY pretty too.

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “The Scar’s Armada”

    1. I’ve read about people feeling the same way with PSS. I think The Scar is a better book for first time readers of Miéville’s works – it’s easier to get into, and the prose is more restrained. I hope you give either books a try soon!

  1. I fell in love with China Mieville through Un Lun Dun. I even managed to read The City & the City which I can only remember as being grayish. I haven’t finished reading a book for almost a month now, I can barely get myself to read a few pages each night of Gone Girl. Just feel stuck.

    1. Ah, the ever-despised reading slump. We all go through that, unfortunately. What I usually do is stick to light young adult or children’s literature, or romance!

      I haven’t read Un Lun Dun, and I’m still on the look out for a copy. I really don’t need a new book any time soon though. I’ve been hoarding this year.

Leave a Reply

