Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

Second favorite from the pile of books read in January (total population: 8, woo!). Amy Poehler is one of my favorite comedians. She’s funny and insightful and I am so happy for all the success she’s been getting. I am obviously a big fan of her and her brand of humor and this is probably why I enjoyed this book immensely.

As a fan of her, I loved this but as a fan of books, I felt like Yes, Please could’ve used a lot more editing. There are so many portions of the book that were all over the place.

amy-poehler-yes-please-1989-photo1
Like her hair

Amy uses a technique of telling a concept or a lesson that was poorly-executed: introducing a nostalgic story, inserting a few stories in between, then rolling out the rest of the first story to close the chapter with. Some of the tales she weaved together were not coherent and her ideas got lost among all the funny anecdotes.  It’s like she tried to wrap some concepts in a box, but the box had no solid bottom so when the chapter ended, the concepts were there but were a hot, sloppy mess.

Over-all though, it was still a pretty great read. It was funny, emotional and sincere. There were a lot of incredibly touching moments as Amy takes us from her roots in Burlington, MA to her college life in Boston, to her early comedienne years in Chicago. I especially loved the chapters where she talks about being a mother, about her family and about being a working mom. I have such high praises for this book and would recommend it to people who love Parks and Recreation, SNL, and/or good laughs.

 

Author: Dar @ thebookexperience

https://thebookexperience.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Yes, Please by Amy Poehler”

  1. Then I’ll skip it. It’s been on my must read list for sometime now but maybe this isn’t for me. I’ve watched none of those shows and I’m not really aware oh her style of humour.

    1. Amy and Tina Fey hosted the Golden Globes three times and if you like their opening monologues, you would likely enjoy her book. 🙂

      Here are a couple:

Leave a Reply

