Nebula Winners

Lists of award-winning novels are not only great ways to discover future favorites, they are also fun to strike through per book as a lifetime reading goal. Below are the Nebula Award Winners for Best Novel from the recognition’s inception in 1965, onwards.

The Nebula Awards are given each year by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) for the best science fiction orfantasy fiction published in the United States during the previous year. The award has been described as one of “the most important of the American science fiction awards” and “the science-fiction and fantasy equivalent” of the Emmy Awards.

  1. Dune (Dune Chronicles, Book 1), by Frank Herbert (1966)
  2. Flowers for Algernon, by Daniel Keyes (1967)
  3. Babel-17, by Samuel R. Delaney (1967)
  4. The Einstein Intersection, by Samuel R. Delany (1968)
  5. Rite of Passage, by Alexei Panshin (1969)
  6. The Left Hand of Darkness (Remembering Tomorrow), by Ursula K. Le Guin (1970)
  7. Ringworld, by Larry Niven (1971)
  8. A Time of Changes, by Robert Silverberg (1972)
  9.  The Gods Themselves, by Isaac Asimov (1973)
  10. Rendezvous with Rama, by Arthur C. Clarke (1974)
  11. The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia, by Ursula K. Le Guin (1975)
  12. The Forever War, by Joe Haldeman (1976)
  13. Man Plus (SF Masterworks), by Frederik Pohl (1977)
  14. Gateway (Heechee Saga), by Frederik Pohl (1978)
  15. DREAMSNAKE, by Vonda Mcintyre (1979)
  16. The Fountains of Paradise, by Arthur C. Clarke (1980)
  17. Timescape, by Gregory Benford (1981)
  18.  The Claw of the Conciliator (His the Book of the New Sun, V. 2), by Gene Wolfe (1982)
  19. No Enemy But Time, by Michael Bishop (1983)
  20.  Startide Rising (The Uplift Saga, Book 2), by David Brin (1984)
  21. Neuromancer, by William Gibson (1985)
  22. Ender’s Game (Ender, Book 1), by Orson Scott Card (1986)
  23. Speaker for the Dead (Ender, Book 2), by Orson Scott Card (1987)
  24. The Falling Woman, by Pat Murphy (1988)
  25. Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold (1989)
  26. Healer’s War, by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough (1990)
  27. Tehanu (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 4), by Ursula K. Le Guin (1991)
  28. Stations of the Tide, by Michael Swanwick (1992)
  29. Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis (1993)
  30. Red Mars (Mars Trilogy), by Kim Stanley Robinson (1994)
  31. Moving Mars: A Novel, by Greg Bear (1995)
  32. The Terminal Experiment, by Robert J. Sawyer (1996)
  33. Slow River, by Nicola Griffith (1997)
  34. The Moon and the Sun, by Vonda N. McIntyre (1998)
  35. Forever Peace, by Joe Haldeman (1999)
  36. Parable of the Talents, by Octavia E. Butler (2000)
  37. Darwin’s Radio, by Greg Bear (2001)
  38. The Quantum Rose (The Saga of the Skolian Empire), by Catherine Asaro (2002)
  39. American Gods, by Neil Gaiman (2003)
  40. The Speed of Dark (Ballantine Reader’s Circle), by Elizabeth Moon (2004)
  41. Paladin of Souls, by Lois McMaster Bujold (2005)
  42. Camouflage, by Joe Haldeman (2006)
  43. Seeker, by Jack McDevitt (2007)
  44. The Yiddish Policemen’s Union: A Novel (P.S.), by Michael Chabon (2008)
  45. Powers (Annals of the Western Shore), by Ursula K. Le Guin (2009)
  46. The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi (2010)
  47. Blackout, by Connie Willis (2011)
  48. All Clear, by Connie Willis (2011)
  49. Among Others, by Jo Walton (2012)

3 thoughts on “Nebula Winners”

      1. He he but it’ll be a good experience 🙂 At least you should let yourself enjoy Gene Wolfes Book of the New Sun… I think maybe the second book in the series won the hugo award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s